40th Reunion: October 8–10, 2010!


Attending a celebration of family and friends called “Sundae Sunday” at the home of Cheryl Schlessman Bennett ’77 and Bill Bennett were the following alumni: front row from left, Diane Lanning Berberick ’55, Lee E. Schlessman ’50, and Susan Schlessman Duncan ’52; back row from left, Ethan Watel ’07, Lauren Bennett ’07, Sandy Schlessman Garnett ’75, Cheryl Schlessman Bennett ’77, Peggy Yaeger Christie ’77, Juleigh Heuston Severin ’77, and Cheryl MacDougall Sample ’77. Not pictured, but attending, were Mark Shira ’82 and Debbie Lanning Angell ’74.


John Dolson has been selected to run for president of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists. The AAPG is the world’s largest geological society, with 36,000 members in 118 countries. John served as vice president from 2006–07. He is now a director of his own oil and gas exploration company, specializing in training and mentoring the next generation of geologists, as well as exploring. He lives with his wife Debbie Hingston Dolson ’73 in Coconut Grove, Fla. Deb and John travel quarterly on international consulting trips and spend their free time enjoying the great climate of South Florida. • Susan Tuck Bagley, professor of environmental microbiology in the department of biological sciences at Michigan Tech University, reports that she is currently the president of the Society for Industrial Microbiology. Here is a link to an article appearing last year in the Michigan Tech news: www.bio.mtu.edu/news/2009/bagley.htm


Class secretary:

Jesse Sokolow
Two Spaulding Lane
Riverdale, NY 10471-3212

Bill Milliken ’73


Bill Milliken was elected treasurer of the Michigan Association of Realtors in June. Bill previously served on the Michigan Association of Realtors board of directors, beginning in 2009, representing the Michigan Commercial Alliance of Realtors. Bill began work in real estate in Ann Arbor in 1987, and served as a director of Republic Bancorp. Milliken Realty, which he formed in 1996, was named a Best of Michigan Business in 2008. Previously, he worked in Washington, D.C., for NASA and the U.S. Deptartment of Justice. • Ann Frick, of Denver-based Jacobs Chase Frick Kleinkopf & Kelley, was featured on the cover of Colorado Super Lawyers 2010; this is her second year in a row to be selected by the publication as one of Colorado’s top 10 “Super Lawyers.” Super Lawyers are selected using a process that combines peer nominations and evaluations with third-party research. Each candidate is evaluated on 12 indicators of peer recognition and professional achievement.


35th Cluster Reunion: October 8–10, 2010!

Washington, D.C.-based Nixon Peabody attorney Andrew Loewinger has been recognized as a leader in the 2010 edition of Chambers Global: The World’s Leading Lawyers for Business. Andrew focuses his practice on corporate, regulatory, transactional, and international franchising.

Bert Rudman’76, Michael Rybak ’76, Deborah Caulfield Rybak ’75, and Timothy Marx ’76 got together at the historic Santa Anita racetrack in Arcadia, Calif and made bets on who’s coming to the reunion in October.


35th Cluster Reunion: October 8–10, 2010!

Vicki Ziegler Noble received an M.A. in creative inquiry from the New College of California in 2007 and lives in Santa Cruz, Calif. She has three children: Robin, Brooke, and Aaron. • In April, Gregg Easterbrook was the featured guest on Comedy Central’s “The Colbert Report.” His eighth book, “Sonic Boom,” was published in January by Random House.

Ron Rubin ’73 and Gina Arms P’08, P’12 completed the BolderBoulder on May 31. Smiling at the finish line, Gina and Ron joined hands for a “victory” photo op. It was Ron’s first BolderBoulder and Gina’s first.


CC Professor of English David Mason is Colorado’s new poet laureate, Colorado Gov. Bill Ritter announced at the state capitol on July 1. David co-directs CC’s creative writing program. His poetry books include “The Buried Houses,” winner of the Nicholas Roerich Poetry Prize; “The Country I Remember,” winner of the Alice Fay Di Castagnola Award; and “Arrivals.” Also, “Vedem” — an oratorio by David and composer Lori Laitman premiered in Washington in May, and was given special recognition by Washington Gov. Christine Gregoire. The concert commemorated Holocaust Remembrance Day, and, more specifically, the lives of 100 teenage boys imprisoned in the Terezín concentration camp. The men published a secret journal, “Vedem,” from 1942 to 1944. Only 12 survived the Holocaust, and, of the six who are alive today, four were in attendance at the concert.


Jim Lewis was nominated for a Tony Award for his work on “Fela!” the Broadway Musical received 11 Tony Award nominations. Jim and Bill T. Jones were nominated for Best Book of a Musical, which is awarded to librettists of the spoken, non-sung dialogue, and storyline of a musical play. “Fela!” is about 1970s Nigerian musician and political activist Fela Anikulapo-Kuti. “Fela!” tied with musical revival “La Cage aux Folles” for the most nominations.

Robin McQuay ’78 and a group of CC friends toured Dale Chihuly’s Boathouse Gallery in Seattle. From left, Susie Smith Burghart ’77, Robin, Marilee Thompson Clarke ’78, and Jan Stephens Cathcart ’78.