The Alumni Association Board (AAB) Development Committee has the privilege of interviewing outstanding applicants each spring for the AAB Student Leader Scholarship. This loan-reducing scholarship is intended to recognize students for their leadership and service as students while encouraging them to continue their involvement with the college once they are alumni.

Again this year, given the continued need for financial aid and one of the largest applicant pools in recent history, the development committee was determined to award four scholarships. To accomplish their goal, the committee reached out to their fellow board members for the necessary support. AAB members, inspired by an exceptional group of CC students and a generous anonymous donor, chipped in to fund the gap between funds needed and the amount available. As a result of the board’s commitment to supporting CC students, the scholarship will award more than $18,000 for the 2010–11 academic year.

“This was the second year that AAB members — all of whom had already given to the annual fund — dipped into their pockets to allow us to give four scholarships. It is incredibly gratifying to be part of a group that is so generous and committed to supporting Colorado College,” said AAB Development Committee Chair Chris Moon Van Ness Schluter ’65.

2010–11 AAB Scholarship Recipients:

  • Sloan Danenhower ’11
  • Colin McCarey ’12
  • Emily Moore ’12
  • Bridgett Shephard ’12

For more information, see