February 2024 Board of Trustees Update

Dear CC Community,

The Colorado College Board of Trustees met on campus Feb. 15-17 for our regular spring meeting, which was a valuable opportunity to connect, strategize, and chart our path forward.

We had important discussions about the upcoming leadership transition as President L. Song Richardson prepares to depart CC at the end of June. Manya Whitaker, Executive Vice President and Chief of Staff, will step in as Interim President for two years, effective July 1. The board came out of our meeting fully confident in the strength of the institution under the leadership of Manya and the Cabinet. We have great momentum behind many strategic initiatives, including Project 2024, and look forward to seeing their continued progress. None of this would be possible without the visionary work of President Richardson or the passion and talent of her leadership team.

On Thursday, we broke up committee meetings with tours of CC eSports Lab and the Colket Center for Academic Excellence. It is always rewarding to see the many resources we have on campus to support student success, in- and outside of the classroom.

Friday’s agenda included a Project 2024 update from Professor Susan Ashley and the co-chairs of our exploratory groups, a discussion about campaign readiness, and preparations for the college’s 150th this fall. We had a focused conversation about governing through a leadership change with David Rowe of Windermere Consulting. We also heard updates from Cabinet members around operational governance, digital transformation, student life, and people and workplace culture.

On Friday night, we cheered our CC Tiger Hockey team to a 7-1 victory over No. 2-ranked University of North Dakota — the first game of a weekend sweep in Ed Robson Arena. It’s safe to say our Tiger spirit is through the roof. We also celebrated Robert Moore, CC’s former Senior Vice President for Finance and Administration, at a dedication ceremony for the Robert G. Moore Entrance at Ed Robson Arena. Thanks to Trustee John Troubh, who made the generous gift to establish this space.

At the Saturday business meeting, the board:

  • Approved tenure and promotion to associate professor as of July 1 for eight professors:
    • Paul Adlerstein, Associate Professor of History
    • Iddo Aharony, Associate Professor of Music
    • Nene Diop, Associate Professor of French
    • Jessica Kisunzu, Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
    • Rushaan Kumar, Associate Professor of Feminist and Gender Studies
    • Amanda Minervini, Associate Professor of Italian
    • Pallavi Sriram, Associate Professor of Theatre and Dance
  • Approved emeritus status for seven faculty and staff members:
    • Shane Burns (2000), Professor Emeritus of Physics
    • Phillip Cervantes (2000), Associate Professor Emeritus of Physics
    • Alberto Hernandez-Lemus (1999), Associate Professor Emeritus of Philosophy
    • Jane Hilberry (1988), Professor Emerita of Creativity and Innovation
    • Mark Smith (1988), Professor Emeritus of Economics
    • Mark Wilson (1998), Associate Professor Emeritus of Organismal Biology and Ecology
    • Mark Hatch (2001), Vice President for Enrollment Emeritus

Congratulations and thank you for your commitment to the liberal arts, the Block Plan, and our students.

If you would like to watch the Feb. 20 virtual town hall discussion, a recording is available here.

Thanks to all who made this visit so memorable. I have no doubt that even during this leadership change, it will be an exciting year of progress and celebration for Colorado College.


Jeff Keller ’91, P ’23

CC Board of Trustees Chair

View this email online
powered by emma