Following the board’s annual February meeting, six Colorado College faculty members were approved by the Board of Trustees for tenure and promotion to associate professor, effective July 1. CC President Jill Tiefenthaler, Provost Alan Townsend, and Dean of the Faculty Claire Oberon Garcia visited each promoted faculty member, congratulating them and bestowing a gift. Faculty promoted and granted tenure are:

  • Rebecca Barnes, Environmental Studies
  • Amanda Bowman, Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Elizabeth Coggins, Political Science
  • Kevin Holmes, Psychology
  • Pamela Reaves, Religion
  • Christiane Steckenbiller, German, Russian, and East Asian Languages

Additionally, the trustees awarded emeriti status to four professors who are retiring at the end of the academic year. Between them, they have 131 years of teaching at CC:

  • Victoria Levine, Professor Emerita of Music; started in 1988
  • David Hendrickson ’76, Professor Emeritus of Political Science; started in 1983
  • Jeff Noblett, Professor Emeritus of Geology; started in 1980
  • Dave Mason ’78, Professor Emeritus of English; started in 1998