Introducing Antiracism Commitment Committee

President L. Song Richardson has announced the new membership of the 16-member Antiracism Commitment Committee. 

First shared in Fall 2019 and re-announced this fall, the committee will guide the work of the Antiracism Implementation Plan and support and hold each member mutually accountable in building a community that is more diverse, inclusive, and equitable. 
“We continue to seek opportunities to generate meaningful feedback and impact from students, staff, and faculty representing the college community, to build an academic environment that values diversity, promotes an inclusive culture, and establishes a profound sense of belonging for each member of the college,” Richardson says. “The Antiracism Commitment Committee’s efforts will be guided by the Antiracism Implementation Plan, which will evolve from input from our community.”
The college’s diversity, equity, and inclusion team will lead the Antiracism Commitment Committee: Rosalie Rodriguez, senior associate dean of students, diversity, equity, and inclusion, Peony Fhagen, senior associate dean of equity, inclusion, and faculty development, and Eric Lee, assistant vice president for diversity, equity, and inclusion for staff.
Committee member Ty Nagamatsu, estate settlement and gift planning officer in the Advancement Division, says she wanted to be involved because she believes the committee “will hold each of us individually accountable for the important systemic commitments we have publicly made.”

“Lawyers like to say that the law waxes slow and exceedingly fine. Similarly, MLK told us that ‘The arc of the moral universe is long, but it bends toward justice.’ This work will require patience, kindness, and time. As an institution, we must resist the urge to quickly check boxes to signify our completion of this work,” Nagamatsu says.

Another committee member, Luis David Garcia Puente, professor of mathematics and computer science, says CC’s Antiracist Commitment is central to its mission and its future, and that, “It is an honor and a serious responsibility to help our college succeed in this crucial endeavor.”

“A commitment of this magnitude and scope needs a body of people to oversee the work of our entire community as we enact its implementation plan,” he says. “We are not here to decide the paths to follow, but to serve our community to achieve its goals. Your input, your ideas, and concerns are fundamental in this process. Be engaged!”

The 2021-22 membership of the ACC committee is:

  • Advancement: Ty Nagamatsu
  • Academic: Luis David Garcia Puente and Amanda Udis-Kessler
  • Athletics: Jeff Conarroe
  • Communications: Felix Sanchez ’93
  • Enrollment Management: Pedro Ramirez
  • Finance and Administration: Amber Brannigan
  • Information Technology: Katharina Groves
  • Student Life: Rochelle Dickey ’83
  • Diversity and Equity Advisory Board, Co-Chairs: Anneke Bruwer and Neena Grover
  • Faculty Executive Committee: Nadia Guessous
  • Staff Council: Jennifer Golightly
  • CC Student Government Association: Misbah Lakhani ’24, Atquetzali Quiroz ’24, Surbhi Bhutani ’22, Jordan Fields ’24

View this email online
powered by emma