Christine Moon Schluter ’65 President of the Alumni Association Board

Christine Moon Schluter ’65
President of the Alumni Association Board

The Alumni Association Board (AAB) received 71 nominations for elected alumni trustee and 28 for young alumni trustee — an unprecedented number. As in the past, AAB solicited nominations from alumni at large and all segments of the college community.

These responses set in motion an opportunity for all alumni to vote later this spring for one of two candidates for elected alumni trustee.

By the time you read this, you may have already cast your ballot for elected alumni trustee; if not, please check the deadline and vote as soon as possible.

Your vote is an important way for you to help ensure the college’s continued strength and the kind of representation you want on the board.

The AAB Nominations and Awards Committee reviewed qualifications of all 99 candidates, and the finalists were approved by the AAB before proceeding. Selection criteria included:


  • Demonstrated service and leadership. Participation in CC events and activities; service on regional, class reunion, professional, or other CC committees; and other engagement with the college. Service to the college as an undergraduate is weighed, especially for candidates for young alumni trustee.
  • Strong background for addressing issues broadly, including leadership in other for profit and nonprofit organizations; general availability to commit time to the board and to do the job well; understanding of the fiduciary responsibilities and support for the president of the college.
  • Diversity — ethnic and gender — brings important perspectives to the collegePhilanthropic commitment to the college. Regular giving, generous in relationship to ability to give, is a hallmark of leadership.


The new trustees will replace Angela Cobian ’11, retiring young alumni trustee, and Amy Shackelford Louis ’84, retiring elected alumni trustee. Angela and Amy have enriched and strengthened the board and the college. Both served on the presidential search committee that brought President Tiefenthaler to CC — an honor that recognized their stature among the trustees and made a lasting contribution to the college. Their terms expire June 30, 2014, and the new trustees’ terms begin July 1, 2014, when they join elected trustees Heather Carroll ’89 and Karen Rechnitzer Pope ’70.

Angela served as president of the Student Government Association, received the Fred Sondermann Award in Political Science and was a member of the debate team. After graduation, she joined Teach for America and is completing a Fulbright Fellowship. She is a member of Alumni and Students of Color, an organization dedicated to mentoring CC students of color both before and after graduation.

Amy chairs the CC Board’s Budget, Building and Grounds Committee. She graduated magna cum laude from CC and was president and treasurer of Kappa Alpha Theta. She received a master’s degree in accounting from Northwestern University. Among other professional accomplishments, she worked for McKinsey and Co. and Stamos Associates. She has served on several nonprofit boards, chairing a couple, in addition to CC.

We seek new trustees who will strengthen the college as much as Angela and Amy have. We hope that the vote count for elected alumni trustee will be as impressive as the volume of nominations.

Please do your part and vote.