CC honored 10 distinguished former students at a ribbon-cutting and dedication of the East Campus Housing Community during Family and Friends Weekend. Eight residential buildings, a community center, and a central courtyard bear their names.

Residential Buildings

Marcellus H. Chiles, Colorado College’s only Medal of Honor recipient, was a student at CC when World War I began.

Marian Williams Clarke, the first CC graduate and among the first 20 women nationally to be elected to federal office, graduated in 1902.

Albert R. Ellingwood, the college’s first Rhodes Scholar and an accomplished mountaineer, graduated in 1910.

Peggy Fleming, who dominated women’s figure skating from 1966 to 1968, attended Colorado College in the late 1960s.

Glenna Goodacre, best known for designing the obverse of the Sacagawea dollar and the Vietnam Women’s Memorial in Washington, D.C., graduated in 1961.

James Heckman, CC’s only Nobel laureate, noted for his contributions to labor economics and the microeconomics of diversity and heterogeneity, graduated in 1965.

Frederick M. Roberts, the college’s first African-American graduate and the first African American elected to the California State Legislature, graduated in 1906.

Ken Salazar, CC’s first U.S. senator and first presidential cabinet member, served as the nation’s secretary of the interior from 2009 to 2013. He graduated in 1977.


Laura Hershey, poet and essayist, world traveler, feminist, and advocate for disability rights, graduated in 1983.

Community Center

William J. Hybl, one of the nation’s premier advocates for and examples of public service, whose career spans decades of local, national, and international involvement, graduated in 1964.